Casas de Antaño

The 2015 Casas de Antaño historic home tour will feature:

The W.E. Garrison House
   (3120 Good Shepherd Road, off of Conway Ave.)

Date: Sunday, May 10, 2015

Time: 1:00-5:00pm

- $10 per person

  1. -Buy tickets at the property after 1:00pm the day of the tour


This year MVP is doing something a little different for the Casas de Antaño (Houses of Yesteryear) tour. We have the rare opportunity to showcase a truly remarkable historic house. In 2014, MVP research helped reveal and prove that the W.E. Garrison House was designed by renowned southwestern architect Henry C. Trost. W.E. Garrison was a fascinating person. He was President of the New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts (now NMSU) from 1908 through 1913. The house is distinctive in its “Spanish Renaissance” design, invented by Henry Trost for the campus buildings that were erected around the same time. The grand two-story house is also one of the only remaining examples of a Trost design executed in our native adobe.

The 2015 tour will also feature a series of informative presentations by regional experts that will run simultaneously with the tour on topics related to the property, its history, and architecture. Cost of the tour and lecture series is $10 per person, and tickets may be purchased at the W.E. Garrison House on the day of the tour.

• 1:30 - 2:00 - Dr. Jon Hunner, NMSU Department of History—“Mesilla Park and Early College History”

• 2:00 - 2:30 - Dr. Rick Hendricks, New Mexico State Historian—“W. E. Garrison”

• 2:30 - 3:00 - Irene Oliver-Lewis – “Recollections of Madonna High School”

• 3:00 - 3:30 - Margaret Smith, Great niece of Henry C. Trost—“Trost Family History”

• 3:30 - 4:00 - Dr. Troy Ainsworth, CARTA—“Henry C. Trost and Frank Lloyd Wright”

• 4:00 - 4:30 - Dr. Max Grossman, UTEP Department of Art—“Trost & Trost in El Paso, Texas”

• 4:30 - 5:00 - Eric Liefeld, Mesilla Valley Preservation, Inc.—“Trost & Trost in the Mesilla Valley”


Casas de Antaño 2015:
The 1909 W. E. Garrison House by Henry C. Trost

The W.E. Garrison House as it appeared some time in the 1920s.